Event Listings

Our upcoming events are listed below:

The Symphony String Quintet
Arvo Pärt connects the dots between Classical and Romantic in this exceptional program featuring five Symphony Principals! We open with what many consider one of the finest in the string quintet repertoire, Mozart’s remarkable 515—among the very greatest of his chamber music masterpieces. Then, transporting us to another realm is Pärt’s enigmatic Summa for String Quartet, originally written for a cappella voices. And recognized as the nineteenth-century’s “Second Mozart,” rounding out the afternoon is Mendelssohn’s magically passionate String Quintet No 2.
Sun 1/20/19 2:00PM NM Museum of Art The Santa Fe Symphony: String Quintet

Adolphe, Williams & Mahler
The Symphony’s Concertmaster, David Felberg, takes center stage to perform Bruce Adolphe’s Concerto for Violin, an extremely passionate and lyrical retelling of the life of “Joachim Prinz.” To follow, one of the most well-known and emotionally entrancing melodies in film history will captivate you—Williams’s beloved theme from Schindler’s List. And finally, the luminous soprano voice of Mary Wilson will fill the hall when she joins us for Mahler’s wondrous Symphony No. 4. Adolphe Concerto for Violin “I Will Not Remain Silent,” David Felberg, Violin Williams Theme from Schindler’s List Mahler Symphony No. 4 in G Major, Mary Wilson, Soprano
Sun 2/17/19 4:00PM Lensic Performing Arts Center The Santa Fe Symphony:
Adolphe, Williams & Mahler

Drew Petersen, Piano
The third of our 2018–2019 Concert Recital series features the gold-medal winner of the 2017 American Pianists Awards, Christel DeHaan Fellow, and Steinway Artist Drew Petersen. We are thrilled to present this prodigious 24-year-old pianist for an evening of piano works by master composers Schubert and Chopin. Sought-after as a soloist, recitalist, and chamber musician, Drew is the recipient of a coveted 2018 Avery Fisher Career Grant. His decorated young career also includes prizes in the Leeds and Hilton Head International Piano Competitions, Kosciuszko Foundation Chopin Competition, and the New York Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition.
Thu 3/7/19 7:00PM NM Museum of Art The Santa Fe Symphony:
Pianist Drew Petereson in Recital

Adams, Mozart, Dvorak
Just weeks after Drew Petersen's solo appearance at St. Francis Auditorium, he returns to join the full Orchestra on The Lensic stage! This spectacular program opens with The Chairman Dances, an exuberant and lush work by one of America’s most admired and respected composers, John Adams. Praised for his "commanding and poetic interpretations," Drew Petersen will then dazzle us with Mozart's masterful Piano Concerto No. 20. In conclusion, Dvorák’s magnificent Symphony No. 7 will keep you on the edge of your seat. Commissioned by the London Philharmonic Society in 1884, this ambitious work has been considered by many to be the pinnacle of Dvorák’s achievement as a composer. ADAMS The Chairman Dances MOZART Piano Concerto No. 20 in D Minor, K466 Drew Petersen, Piano Dvorák Symphony No. 7 in D Minor, op. 70
Sun 3/17/19 4:00PM Lensic Performing Arts Center The Santa Fe Symphony:
Adams, Mozart, Dvorak

Mozart & Brahms
World-renowned Guest Conductor Dante Anzolini leads The Symphony for Mozart’s enchanting Symphony No. 29—described as having the perfect Classical balance between grace and energy—and Brahms’s “A German Requiem,” an extraordinarily rich body of work which may very well be the most comforting, humane requiem ever written. Inspired by the death of his mother, this incredible masterwork will be brought to life by the full Symphony and Chorus led by Choral Director Carmen Fl?rez-Mansi; the Eastern New Mexico Chamber Choir led by Jason Paulk; soprano Devon Guthrie, and bass-baritone Joseph Beutel.
Sun 4/14/19 4:00PM Lensic Performing Arts Center The Santa Fe Symphony:
Mozart & Brahms

Season Finale 2018-2019
In honor of the 150 year anniversary of master composer Hector Berlioz's death, our Season Finale presents an epic program that begins when Maestro Guillermo Figueroa hands over the baton to Concertmaster David Felberg and takes up his violin to perform Berlioz's Rêverie et Caprice. Maestro Figueroa returns to the podium to lead The Symphony for one of Berlioz's most extraordinarily dramatic solo cantatas—La mort de Cléopâtre (“The Death of Cleopatra”), composed in 1829. Mezzo-soprano Rebecca Robinson graces us with her “darkly pretty voice” for the solo in this gorgeously romantic work, which was not widely heard until approximately 40 years ago. Our 35th Anniversary Season Finale concludes with Berlioz's most celebrated work, Symphonie Fantastique. Written for large orchestra when he was just 26 years old and already famous, this brilliant piece premiered in Paris on December 5, 1830, and won him a reputation as one of the most progressive composers of the era. Through its movements, it tells the story of an artist's self-destructive passion for a beautiful woman. The symphony describes his obsession and dreams, tantrums and moments of tenderness, and visions of suicide and murder, ecstasy and despair. Rêverie et Caprice, op.8 for Violin & Orchestra Guillermo Figueroa, Violin La mort de Cléopâtre Rebecca Robinson, Mezzo Soprano Symphonie fantastique op. 144
Sat 5/18/19 7:00PM Lensic Performing Arts Center The Santa Fe Symphony:
Berlioz Festival
Sun 5/19/19 4:00PM Lensic Performing Arts Center The Santa Fe Sympony:
Berlioz Festival